PERSONAL: THOUGHTS THAT STUCK WITH ME OVER THE WEEKEND

EVENTSI posted this article over the weekend and trashed it after an hour because 1. (no I wasn’t high) I realized I was writing clearly out of sympathy for myself and 2. Writing something I didn’t even believe (some part of the article was ridiculous) so I re-read and left only that which is relevant or close to sane.

THOUGHTS THAT STUCK WITH ME OVER THE WEEKEND

1. What has nails got to do with sex?

I’m probably the only one who finds a connection between sex and artificial nail extensions. I had some nail extension this week…initially I thought, this is nice, after 10mins I started feeling this subtle pain beneath the artificial extension (oh it sucks). So I paused and asked myself, why do women fix nails? I asked a couple of girlfriends and I figured it out; it’s just like sex for the first time. You get nervous, not sure what you’re doing, but you never get up and run (even if it hurts, which usually is the case) so you lie down there, and suck it in. Looking at these nails, am not sure whether to admire them or yank it off, but then again, just like sex, I do nothing and suck it in.

2.  Body Type! Body Type! Body Type!!

If you’ve ever grown up in Ghana, or in any place resembling this beautiful land of ours in terms of belief system and religious grooming, you’ll understand that life is generally a set of dos and don’ts revolving around career and love. As a result of this narrow perspective on life, rebels like me go out-of-the-way to live life on our terms but sometimes, boundaries are good (if you’ve ever experimented with coke or pot, you understand that) In respect to fashion, the only barrier to breaking all fashion rules and going with the wind is YOUR BODY TYPE.

3. Own A Style!
It’s disturbing to see a lot of Ghanaian women, go the extra mile to look terrible in a bid to come off as trendy and fashionable. I’m not sure if these words are misunderstood by the offenders – fashionable & trendy because if anything at all, they come off as trashy. Generally, clothes are supposed to be a reflection of our personality thus, even if you keep an eye on latest trends, you must have an already existing style to blend these trends into. It’s necessary if you think of yourself in the context of a brand – what do you stand for? what impression would you want to create? who/what do you want to attract?

Have a fab time and don’t forget to share your thoughts as well!

2 thoughts on “PERSONAL: THOUGHTS THAT STUCK WITH ME OVER THE WEEKEND

  1. Now this had me grinning! I have a crious love-hate relationship with artificial nail; swear neva 2 get dem anymre,alas i always do 😦 lovely article!

    Like

Any thoughts?

